Books and Stories

A few notes about the stories and their chronologies:

The majority of my stories fit within the sprawling universe of the Nine Worlds. The two main events anchoring the chronology across these disparate worlds are the Fall of the Empire of Astandalas and the end of the Great Game Aurieleteer played between the Lord of Ysthar and the Enchantress Circe.

The Empire of Astandalas spread across the majority of five worlds, bound together by elaborate magic as well as political and martial might. When the Empire was destroyed in a mysterious magical cataclysm during the reign of Artorin Damara, hundredth and last emperor, not only were the relationships of the worlds and their cultures greatly changed, but magic, weather, geography, and even time itself were themselves affected.

There are several clusters of stories, including those about the members of the Red Company (before and after they were a company of would-be folk heroes), the series Greenwing & Dart, and stories set on post-Fall of Astandalas Ysthar (which is more or less our world, with magic). Other standalones explore various aspects of the Nine Worlds; most tie in, one way or another, with the Red Company.

Stories set before the Fall:

The Sisters Avramapul:
The Bride of the Blue Wind
The Warrior of the Third Veil
The Weaver of the Middle Desert (forthcoming)

The Tower at the Edge of the World

Stone Speaks to Stone

Stories set after the Fall

Short Stories set on Ysthar between the Fall of Astandalas and the events surrounding the end of the Game: ‘Rook’, ‘Scheherezade’, ‘Inkebarrow’ , ‘Blue Moon Over Pincher Creek’, and ‘Not Far from the Tree’. These are collected together in In the Realms of Gold.

The end of the Great Game Aurieleteer marks the end of the long period of isolation and recovery following the Fall. This occurs in Till Human Voices Wake Us.

The Greenwing & Dart series takes place on the world of Alinor, just before and concurrent with some of the events in The Hands of the Emperor. There are currently five books out, with several more planned. Stone Speaks to Stone answers some questions raised in Stargazy Pie and is consequently numbered #1.5 in the series.

Stargazy Pie
Bee Sting Cake
Blackcurrant Fool

In the Company of Gentlemen also takes place on Alinor, at some point between the Fall and the events of Greenwing & Dart.

Next comes two novels set mostly on the world of Zunidh.

The Hands of the Emperor
The Return of Fitzroy Angursell